AREVA logo


AREVA - La Défense

The New AREVA* Board of Directors sets the Company and the Group’s business directions and oversees their implementationand deliberates in particular on the strategic or financial decisions. Its activities are governed by internal rules.

(*) New AREVA is also known as Newco, the provisional name of the entity that includes all AREVA activities related to the nuclear fuel cycle.


Within the bounds of its terms of reference, and without limitation implied, the Board shall:

  • determine the strategic policy directions of the Company and the Group after receiving the opinion of the Strategy and Investments Committee;
  • appoint the corporate officers responsible for managing the Company’s affairs in pursuance of that strategy, and shall set their remuneration based on the proposal of the Nominating and Compensation Committee;
  • at any time of the year, conduct the checks and inspections it thinks fit and require disclosure of the documents it considers useful to the fulfillment of its mission;
  • determine the End-of-Life-Cycle Obligations policy directions of the Company after receiving the opinion of the End-of-Life-Cycle Obligations Monitoring Committee;
  • be regularly informed by the Audit and Ethics Committee of the Company’s financial situation, cash position and commitments;
  • draw up the annual financial statements and the annual management report;
  • draw up the Company’s annual budget and multi-year plan.


Members of the Board

  • Philippe VARIN (Chairman of the Board of Directors)
  • Philippe KNOCHE (Chief Executive Officer)
  • Maurice GOURDAULT-MONTAGNE (General secretary of French Ministry of Foreign Affairs)**
  • Claude IMAUVEN (Independent Director)
  • Reynold PREVOST DE LA BOUTETIERE ( French Department of Defense)
  • Marie-Astrid RAVON-BERENGUER (CEA)
  • Marie-Hélène SARTORIUS (Independent Director)
  • Marie-Solange TISSIER (French ministry of Economy and Finance)
  • Daniel VERWAERDE (CEA Chairman)
  • The French State represented by Bruno VINCENT (APE)
  • Catherine DEIANA (Director representing Company personnel) [1]
  • Alexia DRAVET (Director representing Company personnel) [1]

Other participants

  • Christian BODIN (General Economic and Financial Controller ) [2]
  • Nicole DELLERO (representative of the Works Committee)
  • Pascal FAURE (Observer)
  • Laurent MICHEL (Government Commissioner) [2]
  • Patrick PELATA (Observer)

(**) will be co-opt to replace M. Christian MASSET at the next board of directors.

[1] Appointed in accordance with article 14.1 of the articles of association of New AREVA Holding.

[2] May attend meetings of the Board and of all its specialized Committees.

Board of Directors' internal rules